Apr 13

TT Series 2017 Round 1

Steve G still has “it”

Rumours of Lincsquad time trial stalwart Steve Grocock coasting to retirement due to youngsters with better hair styles and Aussie accents gaining on him were reduced (albeit only slightly) with the Britcon/OTCF Kona athlete maintaining his number one position at the TT season opener by a mere 2 seconds (21:44) from Scunthorpe Polys rider Richard Walker (21:46) with Julian Hesp 3rd (22:21) on the 9.8 mile LQ10/3 course.

Ruth Wilson was fastest lady (25:47) on her Spencer Engineering Felt DA despite a recent illness followed by Suzanne Szenher (27:13) and Jane Taylor (27:44) third.

With a significant cold crosswind many riders opted to only shed their coats right on the start line with Emma Watts (28:25) drawing the biggest crowd much to the disappointment of Sheehan Quirke (23:12) who not only had to rely on second hand accounts but was (fortunately) largely ignored as he removed his clothing.

Despite the potentially poor conditions many rider set personal bests no doubt due to the cancelled rounds of last year hiding the improvements gained by the dark art of effective coaching and training. The roll of shame of riders setting PB’s and lining up top push older lazier club chairmen further down the order is

Craig Day 24:36, Kev Lovett 24:54 Dan Ellis 25:38, Luke Stonehewer 26:07, Steve Enright 26:12, Darren Scutt 26:53, Pete Wilson 27:25, Jamie Moss, 27:53, Josh Blackley, Sharon Wilson 30:16, Rita Mooney 32;32 and Belinda Allen 35:37

As always a big thank you to our Marshals John Chambers, Amanda Clements, Paul McEwan and Stephen Cannings plus our TT team of Kerry “Raffle Queen” Padley, timekeepers Anna Gibbs and Jess Porte and the signing on team Rob and Cathy Walsh.

Next round in two weeks when no doubt more home made mint choc chip ice cream from the King Billy will be consumed to dull the pain of poor results.

Results attached below:

Round 1


Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>